The file ID provided does not exist or is invalid

First I would like to invite everyone to the Island Caretaker Facebook Group – you can discuss anything you want there.

If you are trying to apply for the Island Caretaker job and after waiting forever you get this error message “The file ID provided does not exist or is invalid” This probably means that your video is too big. Even though the website says under 100mb I tried uploading a video for the island caretaker job and it was only 60MB. It took about an hour and then failed and said The file ID provided does not exist or is invalid. Then I tried again with a 1MB videos just as a test and it worked, so if your getting that error message, encode your video at a lower rate and re-submit.

Dont forget to join your competition on facebook.

8 Responses

  1. hey,i dont normally write on these things but wanted to say thanks for the info….i had spent about 6 llooooong hours trying to sort out the uploading problem, the vid was only 40mb but then i recompressed it to 6mb and it finally worked! thanks!!

  2. Ah… good call. I bet someone goofed the code and set it to 10MB instead of 100MB. I chopped mine down to 8MB (from 23MB) and it went.

    Dan

  3. Thanks dude. I was getting very annoyed trying to upload mine, but I made it a lot smaller (14MB) and it finally went through. Brilliant!

  4. Thanks guys, I’m here to help! I re-encoded mine to 6MB and it worked as well, so good luck to everyone who is entering. I will put my video link up when it is on the site and you can check it out! Cheers

  5. strange, my file is a wmf file, only 2.3 MB, still receive the message, foto has jpeg format, any ideas?

  6. Hey, I just made my video, it’s slightly under 2 minutes but I’ve seen many others over a minute.

    I was wondering if someone can point me to a good video compression program I can download to get it down to a good size.

    Thanks.

  7. Hey harry, wmf is likely not a supported file type. On the site it says these ones are allowed “MPEG, AVI, MOV or WMV ” and to Steven I used a trial version of Cyberlink Power director pro.

  8. Great! Thank you!
    I always wanted to write in my blog something like that. Can I take part of your post to my site?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Regards, Timur Alhimenkov

Leave a Reply

